Grilled squid salad with provençal vegetables

Last week I was suffering from vertigo and as a result spent several days lying quietly in a dark room.  As I started to recover I managed to make it onto the sofa and proceeded to pass the time watching cookery shows.  This was entertaining, but was also frustrating as I couldn’t cook any of the dishes that took my fancy!

This week I’m a lot better and have been able to manage some light cooking.  One of the dishes that had appealed to me was the grilled squid salad that featured on Raymond Blanc’s Kitchen Secrets.  It looked fairly simple to prepare as well as light to eat (I hadn’t been able to eat much while unwell) and so seemed a great dish to help ease me back into cooking.

I have to confess that I only looked up the recipe in order to write this post, I made the dish from memory instead and so my quantities were a little different.  I used 3 squid for two people (rather than four) and began by preparing these.

My squid came frozen from Macro and had been largely prepared for me, but I started by removing the small traces of skin that remained and the skeleton from inside the body of the squid.   I then scored the flesh and divided each squid into 6 or 7 pieces.

Preparing the squid

The pieces went into a plastic bag so that they could marinade.  I used pre-prepared coriander and chilli rather than fresh and replaced palm sugar with caster sugar.  In total I put one heaped teaspoon of chopped coriander, half a teaspoon of chopped chilli, half a teaspoon of sugar and a pinch of salt into the bag.  I also added some oil to help everything stick to the squid before sealing the bag and giving the lot a good shake.  The bag then went into the fridge for an hour or so.

The squid marinading in the bag

When I was ready to cook I sliced half a courgette and half a bulb of fennel as thinly as possible while my griddle pan heated up.  I’m not great at this, so I ended up with a variety of thick, thin and wedge shaped slices.  I only have one griddle pan, and so things needed to be cooked in batches.  I cooked the courgette first, then the fennel and finally the squid.

Cooking the veg and squid

I think my squid could have done with a little more oil (or I need a better pan!) as I found that rather than curling up elegantly like the pieces had on the programme, my squid stuck itself to the griddle.  This lead to a bit of the panic as the pan was very hot (as per Raymond’s instructions) and I didn’t want the squid to overcook while I struggled to remove it.  It was hard to tell from both the programme and the recipe of the vegetables should be warm or not, by by the time I finally managed to peel the squid pieces off the griddle my vegetables had gone cold.

The squid stuck to the pan

I artfully arranged the vegetables around the plate before scatting over some sundried tomatoes.  A good handful of salad leaves went into the middle and was topped with the squid pieces before the whole lot was finished off with some shavings of parmesan.

The finished dish

I have to admit that I was slightly sceptical about the Asian coriander and chilli with the other Mediterranean flavours, but it worked very nicely.  The squid was extremely tasty and didn’t seem to have suffered much harm by becoming affixed to my pan.  The vegetables themselves were nice despite being cold and I think the fennel in particular matched the squid nicely.

In the end this dish wasn’t quite as straight forward to make as I had hoped, there is a lot of frantic activity right at the last minute, but it’s a really nice salad and looks impressive when served.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Grilled squid salad with provençal vegetables”

  1. ElenaSC Says:

    It looks great!

  2. Jill Colonna Says:

    It certainly does look impressive and tasty, too! Super post. I’m so frustrated as I’d love to watch Kitchen Secrets and can’t access it on the web here in France 😦
    Glad to hear you’re better. Positive part is you got to watch Cooking TV!

  3. Corina Says:

    I watched Raymond making this too and plan to something similar – I love anything with chilli and coriander in!

  4. Anne Says:

    I really like squid but only been brave enough to cook with it once! Your dish looks so lovely and colourful!

    Hope your head is better now x

  5. Cahide Says:

    Enfes bir lezzet bayıldım!

  6. Andrewd3000 Says:

    Big fan of Raymond’s kitchen Secrets, although I may not cook any of his stuff I just love watching someone so passionate about food.

    Good effort on the squid Rhys, squid is fantastic not so keen on prepping it though

  7. An Irish Village Pantry Says:

    This looks so fresh and delicious, a perfect dish for Spring.
    A family member suffers with vertigo on occasion and I know how frustrating & debilitating it is for them. Hope you feel better soon 🙂

  8. Quay Po Cooks Says:

    This looks fabulous and delicious.

Leave a Reply

