Chicken Legs in Cider

I’ve always been something of a hoarder. As a result my cupboards are constantly overflowing with tins and my freezer is always full.  Recently I’ve been trying to hoard slightly less and have been making an effort to eat down my freezer a little. Recently, while rummaging in the back I came across some chicken legs which had come from the pack used to cook my less than successful confit chicken.

They’d been sat there a while, but I couldn’t really face using them since the trauma of the confit-ing disaster.  But eventually I decided that I would try to exorcise the painful memory by cooking something much nicer with these two remaining chicken legs instead.

Having a quick browse around the web I settled on a dish from the Good Food website which involved cooking the legs in cider.  The first thing I did was to get my partner to remove the spine of the chicken which was still attached to the top of the legs.    I know as a foodie I shouldn’t be squeamish about such things, but for some reason I find spines off-putting.  Anyway, my partner had never used his cleaver before and couldn’t wait to have a go; he found the whole thing great fun!

To actually start the cooking I heated some oil in a thick bottomed pan and added my chicken to brown.  I cooked them for a few minutes each side until there was plenty of golden colour on the skin.  Then I removed the legs from the pan and added roughly chopped onion (1 onion), mushrooms (4 large ones) and bacon (2 rashers of back).

Browning the chicken and the other bits

When these had also coloured it was time for a half tablespoon of plain flour followed by 225ml of dry cider.  The remainder of the bottle went in the fridge to be enjoyed with the meal!

Adding the cider to make the sauce and putting the chicken legs back in

All I needed to do then was stir in a good dollop of Dijon mustard and then return the chicken legs to the pan.  I put a lid on my pot and placed it in the oven to bubble away for 40 minutes at 190°C.  The smell of the chicken cooking was delicious and infused my flat, making the 40 minutes feel a very long time!  When it was finally time to eat I lifted the lid and was not disappointed. It looked and smelled great.

Out of the oven and all served up

I served this up with some roast potatoes, boiled petit pois and broad beans which added a lovely brightness to the plate.  The chicken was delicious and everything I had hoped for in the previous confiting.  The meat flaked easily from the bone, but remained moist and full of flavour.  The skin may have been soft but it was too tasty to worry about such things.

The sauce itself was deep and mellow.  Despite the addition of the flour it had not thickened much and so spread about the plate coating everything.  This delicious tasting meal was quick and easy to make.  It’s come from a cheap eats sections, I would debate that classification – I don’t find cider or bacon to be overly cheap ingredients – but I wouldn’t hold that against it.  The spectre of the confit chicken legs had most definitely been exorcised.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 Responses to “Chicken Legs in Cider”

  1. Babygirl Says:

    I would have never thought to pair chicken with cider but it looks like you did a wonderful job. It really looks amazing. Nice post.

  2. The Grubworm Says:

    Apples, mustard and chicken? Wow, sounds like a killer combo, and one that I intend to try out as soon as I can. I bet the fruity cider and piquant mustard balanced each other out beautifully. I suspect they’d make a great sauce for pork as well, maybe a similar recipe with pork chops?

    • rhiannong Says:

      Glad you like the sound of it, we must think on the same lines, my next plan was to try something similar with some pork chops and maybe have some gently fried apple slices as an accompaniment.

Leave a Reply

