A store cupboard risotto with a little bit of luxury

Returning home from visiting family over Christmas and New Years my fridge was bare (and the flat was freezing!).  Having not thought to buy anything on my way home and being far too impatient to wait for something to defrost I rooted round my cupboards to try and put together a nice warming meal.  One of the gifts I received this Christmas was a set of truffle oil and truffle butter from Carluccios.  So when I spotted some dried porcini mushrooms lurking at the back of the cupboard I decided to make a risotto!

My foodie gifts

For two persons I used:

  • 140 g of risotto rice
  • A small shallot finely diced
  • 20g dried porcini mushrooms
  • 200ml of hot water
  • 200ml stock
  • 100mls white wine
  • Splash of Madeira

I started by soaking my porcini mushrooms in 200ml of hot water.  I left them for about half an hour to soften and for the liquid to become mushroomy.  I then removed them from the liquid, squeezed the excess water out and chopped them into small pieces.   I topped up the water from the mushrooms with stock to make the liquid for my risotto.

To start the risotto itself I gently fried my chopped shallot till it was golden before adding the rice and stirring until the rice turned translucent.

Frying the onion and rice

I then added the wine and a good slug of Madeira which I think always makes a great accompaniment to any dish involving mushrooms.

Adding wine and maderia

When the rice had absorbed all the alcohol I started to slowly add the stock/mushroom water stirring the mix from time to time.  Risotto can be a bit tiresome as you need to keep an eye on it all the time, but it’s one of my favourite dishes so I find it worth the effort.

Adding stock

When I added the final bit of stock I also added the chopped mushrooms.

Adding the last of the stock and the mushrooms

When the majority of the stock had been absorbed leaving a small amount of silky liquid I added about a teaspoon of the truffle butter which, in addition to adding a truffle flavour gave the risotto a lovely gloss.

Adding my lovely luxury butter

Although the mix was rich already I then a good sprinkling of parmesan cheese for good measure.

Plenty of lovely cheese

Before serving up drizzled with some of the truffle oil

The final dish served up and dotted with truffle oil

The whole meal was rich, warm and delicious.  The truffle butter and oil had a lot of flavour and really enhanced the mushroom flavour.  The scented oil was particularly strong, the scent of truffle stayed in the room for several hours.  You didn’t to use much to get the taste so my little gifts should last a while yet.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “A store cupboard risotto with a little bit of luxury”

  1. Janice Says:

    mmm love risotto, this sounds decadent!

  2. Healthy Diet Recipes – Healthy Diet – the Way to Plan a Healthy Diet Says:

    […] A store cupboard risotto with a little bit of luxury « Rhi's … […]

  3. noblenourishment Says:

    Oooh I love risotto, I’m actually making some tonight! How comforting does yours look?! Mmmmh.

  4. Joe Mathers Says:

    When are you getting a TV program is what I want to know!! Let me know what time it is on

Leave a Reply

