Chicken Tikka Wraps

For tea last week I decided to cook some chicken tikka wraps.  I’ve made a few Indian marinades before, but I usual cheat a little and use a pre-made paste of spice mix.  After a little bit of research around the web I found that I had most of the common ingredients for chicken tikka in my cupboard. So I thought I’d have a go at making the sauce from scratch.

The ingredients for the chicken tikka marinade

Most of the recipes I saw recommended marinating the chicken for a couple of hours.  However being in work during the day, and figuring it couldn’t hurt, I started the day before giving the meat plenty of time to marinate.

Making the marinade

My marinade consisted of:

  • 200g Greek yogurt
  • 3 cloves of garlic (diced)
  • 2 tsp ginger paste
  • 1 tbsp turmeric
  • 1tsp smoked paprika (I didn’t have any of the plain variety!)
  • 2 tsp chopped chilli
  • 1tbsp garam masala
  • 2 tsp lemon juice

This was all mixed together before adding the chicken (around 450/500g) which I had chopped into inch cubes. This was then covered and placed in the fridge

Adding the chicken to the marinade

All nicely covered

When I was ready to cook I got the chicken out of the fridge to take the chill off, then heated the oven to 200C.  Rather than take off the excess marinade I decided to put the dish straight in the oven to ensure that the chicken had a good coating.  In the end I left everything in for 20 minutes and when I checked, the chicken was cooked though and still very moist – perfect!

Chicken tikka just out of the oven

While the chicken had been cooking I prepared some accompaniments.  I chopped up a red onion and two large shallots which were gently fried until translucent and shredded some romaine lettuce.  Looking back I think fresh baby leaf spinach would have been good as well, but I didn’t have any in the flat.

lettuce and onions

With everything ready I fished the tikka pieces out of the excess marinade and put them in a clean dish.  Plenty of the marinade clung to the chunks, which was wonderful!   Grabbing my garlic and coriander wraps from the cupboard I served up everything and got to work on constructing a wrap for myself.

Making a wrap

I was really pleased with how everything turned out in the end as it was a great alternative to fajitas.  The marinade was really fragrant and not too hot.  Although, with all the yogurt, it could easily take more chilli if desired.  I didn’t think it was  bad for a first attempt!  There was a slight bitterness from the garam masala, but the subtle sweetness of the slow cooked onions countered this well.  With everything else being soft the lettuce also added a much needed bit of crunch.

The final chicken pieces looked amazing.  I wasn’t sure about the colour of the marinade when I first made it as it had seemed a bit pale.  However once it was cooked it turned a deep orange which contrasted really well with the pale flesh of the meat.

My chicken pieces were too large to eat as one piece which meant I needed to cut them to go in the wraps. But I think keeping the pieces large helped keep the chicken moist so I will keep them that size when I next make this.  I also make far too much for two (the quantity would easily do 3!), but this was no bad thing.  The tikka pieces kept really well in the fridge and were consumed for lunch a few days later!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Chicken Tikka Wraps”

  1. Janice Says:

    Lovely looking chicken, definitely worth the effort.

Leave a Reply

