Celebration Cupcakes

A Celebration Cupcake

Last Monday I got the great news that I had got the new job I had applied for and that I will be moving to Geneva in April!  I was over the moon and to celebrate I ordered myself a copy of the Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook (something I had been hankering after for a while) as a little me to me present.  This weekend I made my first cupcakes from it.

The ingredients

The mix for the cakes was quite different to my usual 4oz flour, 4oz sugar, 4oz butter 2 eggs fairy cake mix but I was eager to try something new.   The method in the book is written for a freestanding electric mixer, something I don’t own, but I managed fine with my handheld one and think it could have gotten by easily enough with a wooden spoon and a bit of elbow grease if it came to it.

The recipe makes 12 cakes and I started by mixing up 120g of plain flour, 140g of golden caster sugar, 1½ teaspoons of baking powder, a pinch of salt and 40g of unsalted butter until it was sandy.  My beaters did struggle with this bit a little, possibly because my butter was still quite hard (it’s very cold so room temperature didn’t really make the butter soft!) so I did help it along a bit, rubbing in the mix with my fingers.

The dry ingredients before and then mixed to a sandy texture

I then slowly added 60ml of milk to the mixture before I mixed together another 60ml of milk, 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla extract and an egg and incorporated this.  I then continued mixing everything until I had a lovely smooth batter.

adding the liquid bit by bit

Next I spooned this mixture into cases as evenly as I could.  The batter was lot runnier than a fairy cake batter and this made it a little hard to get into the cases without spills, but in the end I got there.  The cakes then went into a 170C oven for 25 minutes and when they were all lovely and golden I took them out, covered them and left them to cool for an hour or so.

The cupcakes before and after baking

Next up to make was the icing (or frosting!), a new area for me.  I decided to top these cakes with a vanilla frosting consisting of 250g of icing sugar beaten with 80g of unsalted butter before the addition of 25ml of whole milk, some vanilla essence and some beetroot pink natural food colouring.  This produced a lovely pastel pink icing.

Making the frosting

With the cakes now room temperate it was time to top them with the frosting and complete my masterpieces.  This it turned out was surprisingly tricky.  I was using a silicon spatula and this proved to be way to flexible and flicked bits of icing all around.  I had also bought some pink glitter sugar to go on the cupcakes and this didn’t want to cooperate and stick to the cakes.  When I had finally decorated all 12 my kitchen was covered in pink icing and sugar, it was worth it though as the cupcakes looked divine.  They tasted pretty good to, very sweet but with plenty of vanilla; the perfect way to celebrate my good news.

All my lovely cupcakes

Overall I felt this recipe worked really well, both the cupcake batter and the frosting were straight forward to make and the recipes were very clear and well written.  I may not have had the correct equipment, but the only thing I struggled with was measuring the liquid quantities (120ml is not a measurement on my jug!) which, given that with baking you need to be exact, concerned me when I was making the cakes.  Everything turned out fine so either I judged it pretty well or the recipe can take a little bit of error, both options are great!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Celebration Cupcakes”

  1. Choclette Says:

    Congratulations on the job and the cakes – yum.

Leave a Reply

