A Present of Scotch Eggs!

For my birthday I took a trip over to the Cowbridge Food and Drink Festival where, as well as enjoying the excellent demonstrations, I revelled in trying lots of great produces and buying some gorgeous cheeses, a few bottles of cider (to be reviewed at a later date!) and smoked garlic.  I was pleased to see the Handmade Scotch Eggs Company there and, given my love of such delicacies, as a special extra present my partner bought me 4 eggs to try which I now want to review.

 

For a long time, due to an odd aversion to eating eggs in which the white and yellow were not mixed, the only scotch eggs I had tried were the mini variety.  These consisted on a small amount of scrambled egg wrapped in tasteless meat (this may actually have been cardboard) and were not really that inspiring.  However in recent years I have overcome my issue and now enjoy eating fried, boiled and poached eggs with abandon.  As a result I have been introduced to the world of full size scotch eggs, and courtesy of farmers markets in various places, tasty scotch eggs!  I had my first proper scotch egg just under a year ago and I haven’t looked back since and now even make my own.

 

From the Handmade Scotch Eggs Company range I have previously sampled the Morgan (pork and mature goats cheese and fresh chives), the Baz (pork, sun-dried tomatoes, black olives and fresh basil) and the award winning Blackwatch (pork and black pudding!) all of which I enjoyed immensely.

 

As my present I had four different eggs: Scrumpy, Leon, Sara’s Crumble and Passion

My Eggs!

Scrumpy

The Scrumpy Scotch Egg

The Scrumpy egg is a Great Taste Award gold star winner and contains pork, apple and sage.  This apple made it a bit sweet and the sage was very subtle, but overall it tasted great and was really moorish.  I can really see why this has won awards since as soon as I was finished I wanted another!

 

Leon

The Leon Scotch Egg

This is another Great Taste Award gold star winner this time with garlic and tarragon mixed in with the pork.  As soon as I opened the bag I was greeted by the scent of garlic, and this only got stronger when I cut into the egg.  Eating the lot I found it quite hard to detect any tarragon, however you couldn’t miss the garlic, even the egg by itself tasted of it!  I love garlic, but I think if you’re less keen this may be one to avoid.  As it was I could taste it on my breath for several hours after eating so I dread to think what my breath must have smelt like, thankfully I was at home so it was only my partner who had to put up with me.

 

Sara’s Crumble

The Sara's Crumble Scotch Egg

This is a vegetarian option egg with a mixture of apple, mushrooms, peanuts, carrots and oats along with some marmite replacing the usual meat.  I usually love vegetarian options and was really looking forward to trying this egg (I had read the description on their website previously), however when I got round to eating it I was severely disappointed.  It was pretty bland and I suspect it had no salt in it at all.  I couldn’t taste any marmite at all and the whole thing felt very flat.  I hope this was just something missing from this batch rather than a recipe decision.

 

Passion

The Passion Scotch Egg

This egg has beetroot, red onion and smokey bacon mixed into the pork.  The meat was a vivid purple red colour had this has also leached into the egg itself which was slightly disconcerting when I first cut it open.  When I got over the shock of the colour and ate the egg I found it was sweet from the beetroot and onion, but also had a wonderful subtle smokiness courtesy of the bacon.  It was a really tasty combination that more than made up for my disappointment with Sara’s Crumble.

 

I’m really glad I got to try some different flavours and now have some extra varieties to add to my favourites list and to possibly try and recreate myself.  These scotch eggs were a great present and I can’t wait until the next food fair when I can try some more.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “A Present of Scotch Eggs!”

  1. Amy Says:

    Great post! I’m looking to make some changes in my own eating habits, so I appreciate your insight a lot! Thank you. I recently stumbled upon this blog like I did yours and I thought your readers may appreciate it: http://burisonthecouch.wordpress.com/2010/11/04/food-for-thought/

    I’ve started to look for their stuff more regularly and I think I’m going to add your blog to my list as well. Thanks for the post!

Leave a Reply

