Squash, Roasted Garlic and Goats Cheese Lasagne

My unidentified squash

Back in Cardiff Autumn is well underway, the trees are changing colour and the shops are full of my favourite vegetable – Squash.  There are many different varieties of squash in a wonderful range of autumnal colours and sizes and I love to cook with them (even though I usually have no idea what variety I’m using!).  For this lasagne I was using a green and orange squash which tapered to a point (please let me know if you know what it was!) and weighed just under a kilo.  This gave plenty of flesh for a lasagne for two

My Ingredients

The rest of my ingredients (for 2) were:

  • 50g goats cheese
  • 6 cloves of garlic (nice fat ones!)
  • 200g lasagne sheets
  • A can/carton of chopped tomatoes
  • Squeeze of tomato puree
  • A small onion
  • Tablespoon of sage
  • About 250mls skimmed milk
  • A couple of tablespoons of cornflour
  • Salt and pepper

The first thing I did was scoop out the core, peel the squash and chop it into 1½ – 2cm cubes.  I then tossed the cubes in a couple of tablespoon of oil and the sage and mixed with the whole, unpeeled garlic cloves.  The whole lot was roasted them in the oven for 30-40 minutes, at 200°C, till soft and starting to brown.

Roasting the squash, sage and garlic

Once the squash was cooked I started on my tomato sauce first squeezing the soft middle from the garlic cloves, chopping it and gently frying the result with some finally chopped onions.  When the onions were nice and translucent I added the chopped tomatoes, tomato puree and plenty of pepper and left the lot to gently simmer for about 10 minutes.

The chopped cooked garlic, tomato sauce, and adding the roasted squash

I also made a white sauce by combining the milk with the cornflour, some nutmeg and seasoning and heating till this thickened and chopped up the goats cheese into small pieces.  All that was left to do then was assemble the lasagne layering up the two sauces, cheese and pasta.  This was all topped with plenty of white sauce and cheese and then baked in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Layering the lasagne, before going in the oven and after cooking

The resulting lasagne is filling without being heavy and full of flavour.  The sweetness of the squash is tempered by the deep garlic and tangy cheese.  It’s a favourite in my house and it’s also pretty easy to scale up (I’ve made it for eight) provided that you can get a big enough pan to cook it in!  I’m going to be making this quite a few more times before the winter is over!

Served up on the plate

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Squash, Roasted Garlic and Goats Cheese Lasagne”

  1. Tweets that mention Squash, Roasted Garlic and Goats Cheese Lasagne « Rhi's Foodie World -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by lucinda vette, Thirsty Girl. Thirsty Girl said: And just one more- Squash, Roasted Garlic and Goats Cheese Lasagne http://ow.ly/32QGS #CheesyMonday […]

  2. Wendy@The Omnivorous Bear Says:

    Thank you Rhi! What a brilliant recipe – I am cooking for vegetarians next weekend and this will be perfect.

Leave a Reply

