Beef Burgers, topped with Pesto and Mozzarella

I love making burgers and I think that in general burgers get a bit of a bad rep.  A good homemade burger is nothing like the frozen “meat” patties that end up on so many barbeques. Equally it is unlike the grease smothered fast food offering that can taste great, but are not what you would call a healthy option.   A homemade burger is a tasty versatile dish which can be dressed up and down as the occasion demands.  It’s something I find great for informal dinners, letting people flavour their own burgers from a selection of toppings

Back when I was a student and mince was the height of extravagance, I made a lot of burgers with a variety of different meats including turkey and pork. I often added many herbs and spices to the dish to give a Thai, Indian or Italian theme. Even with all these permutations I still think the original beef burger is still the best.

My recipe is pretty simple really:

To make four burgers:

400-500g lean minced beef (extra lean can get a bit dry)

An onion, finely chopped and softened

A beaten egg

Teaspoon of Dijon mustard

Salt and pepper

Beef burger ingredients before mixing, this is actually the quantity for 2 burgers

This is all mixed together by hand and shaped into patties before being chilled in the fridge for at least an hour so their fairly firm when you come to cook them.

The mix shaped into patties

I cook each burger four about 5 minutes each side, because as much as I love the pink burgers of GBK, I daren’t replicate this at home with shop bought mince.  About 10 minutes in total gives a burger which is cooked through but still moist in the middle

On this occasion I decided to use the middle of a walnut ciabatta loaf cut into squares in place of buns. This looked effective, but was a bit difficult to eat, and in the end I resorted to a knife and fork.  I topped the burgers with mozzarella and green pesto, along with tomato slices and baby spinach.  The result was very tasty without overpowering the burger itself.

To complete the meal I served the burgers with some homemade oven baked and annoyingly slightly over cooked chips.  I set these off with lashings of garlic mayonnaise, made by mixing low fat mayo with garlic puree.

The final burger topped with pesto and mozzerella served with chips

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Beef Burgers, topped with Pesto and Mozzarella”

  1. noblenourishment Says:

    Mmmmm I wish I was having this for my lunch! I’ve never tried making my own burgers, but it’s something I’ve always wanted to do. I’d quite fancy stuffing it with cheese too. Oh I’m so hungry now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

