The I Diet by Gino D’Acampo

I decided to buy The I Diet after seeing some of the recipes previewed in a Sunday magazine, and after trying some of those, and seeing that it was half price on Amazon I decided to give it a try.

The book is contains a collection of 100 healthy recipes (well 93 since there are 7 in the naughty corner at the back) split down into the categories of  breakfast, antipasti, lunch, soups and salads, pasta, pizza and risotto, fish, meat and deserts.  The recipes are written by the Gino D’Acampo with an introduction by the dietician Juliette Kellow.

The beginning of the book is contains explanations of the most commonly used ingredient and some of their health benefits as well as some handy tables comparing the amount of calories and fat in different cheeses and alcoholic drinks as well as the calories burnt undertaking various activities.  There is also a lot of focus on low GI foods, which is later reflected in the amount of recipes that involve pulses.  This is all followed some sample meal plans based on consumption of either 1500 or 2000 calories a day.

So far I’ve cooked about 10 dishes from the book, including some great salads, but I’ve got many more on my to cook list so the book won’t be resting on the shelf anytime soon.  A definite favourite is the little shell pasta with peas, ham and eggs, in which the pasta is cooked in stock before stirring through beaten eggs.  Cooking pasta in stock is something that had never occurred to me to do before, and this dish tastes amazing, not at all like something to be found in a diet book!  The addition of chilli flakes to the recipe also surprised me, and I wasn’t sure how it would combine with the cheese, but it actually works extremely well giving a gentle background heat.

I have spotted one mistake, a recipe for “prawn & bean salad with basil & sun-dried tomatoes” in which no mention is made of any sun-dried tomatoes; however the dish tasted great anyway so I don’t think I was missing much.  Everything else so far has been well explained, and could be easily followed and perfected by even the most inexperienced cook.  For that I would be happy to recommend it.  The pictures look tempting and I think the rage of meals included would mean that most people could find something to appeal to their tastes.  Another great thing is that the ingredients used are easy to find, and not too expensive, Gino even champions the use of frozen veg.  A great book for tasty everyday meals, with a few dishes that have that extra something making them suitable for a special meal.

Although this is a diet book I must say that I’ve never used it as such, but just picked out different recipes to try as the mood takes me.  As nice as the as the food is, I love trying different things too much to stick to just Italian for every meal.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “The I Diet by Gino D’Acampo”

  1. Chicken in a Lemon and Butter sauce « Rhi's Foodie World Says:

    […] in a Lemon and Butter sauce By rhiannong Another evening and another delicious and healthy Gino D ‘Acampo I Diet meal.  Flicking though the book this recipe jumped out at me despite there not being a picture (I […]

Leave a Reply

