Plum Sauce – Fairly Easy

I had a few plums left in my fridge, and I was feeling inspired by one of the comeback episodes of masterchef a couple of weeks back, so I decided to try something new and make a plum sauce.  After browsing the internet for suitable recipes I settled upon the following amalgamation (for 2):

4 chopped plums (mine were golden plums and I cut them into 8)

1 desert spoon (approx!) of grated ginger

1 star anise (whole)

1 small cinnamon stick

2 tbsp of red wine vinegar (lacking this I went for 1 dessert spoon of balsamic, one of old white wine – very similar to vinegar!, and a tablespoon of port)

4 tbsp of brown sugar (ish, my sugar had solidified so I just chucked chunks in until it seemed the right sweetness)

It was very simple to make, fry the ginger in a little oil for a couple of minutes till golden and then shove everything else in an wait for it to cook down to a syrupy mush which took about 15 minutes (pulling out the cinnamon stick and star anise before serving!).

The resulting sauce was a great balance of sharpness and sweetness (and pleasing red/purple colour considering I used golden plums). I served it with belly pork that had been roasted in the oven, and rice and peas.  It seemed to go down pretty well and I can see me trying this again soon (possibly with some duck if I can find any on offer!).  Given how easy it was I think it might be a good meal for when I have people round and don’t want to spend all evening cooking.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

